Minnesota EE
 How environmental education
 works in Minnesota

EEAB Members  |  Board Minutes  |  Upcoming Agenda

Environmental Education Advisory Board (EEAB)

The EEAB sunset as of June 30, 2008. The Environmental Education Advisory Task Force (EEATF) was established to carry forward some of the work of the EEAB. The EEATF existed from July 1, 2008 through June 30, 2010 under the authority of the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency's Commissioner.

The Environmental Education Advisory Board (EEAB) is the state board that guided the direction of environmental education in Minnesota. It was created by the 1990 Environmental Education Act (M.S. 1998, Chap. 115A.072) to promote environmental literacy for all Minnesota citizens. The Board accomplished this by advising the Governor through the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency, state agencies, organizations and citizens on the implementation of A GreenPrint for Minnesota: State Plan for Environmental Education (GreenPrint).

One goal of the EEAB was to bring together various individuals and organizations that are working on comprehensive environmental education (EE) programs to further refine their roles in addressing the statewide issues and strategies identified in the GreenPrint. In addition, the EEAB played an important role in guiding the implementation of the GreenPrint - including review of EE programs and policies - as well as guiding the future of EE in the state using the prioritized statewide outcomes and strategies listed in the document. The EEAB is the copyright owner of this document. The first edition of the GreenPrint was developed and published in 1993 with funds from the Legislative Commission on Minnesota Resources (LCMR). The second edition was revised and printed in 2000. The third edition was revised and printed in 2008.

The Board consisted of 20 members - eleven citizen representatives and nine government agencies representatives. One citizen member from each of the 8 congressional districts and 3 citizen at-large members comprised the citizen members (2 of the citizen members must be classroom teachers). They served two-year terms. The Board also had a representative from each of the following: Pollution Control Agency, Department of Education, Department of Agriculture, Department of Health, Department of Natural Resources, Board of Water and Soil Resources, Environmental Quality Board, Board of Teaching, and the University of Minnesota Extension Service.

Learn more about the Environmental Education Advisory Task Force (EEATF) at http://www.seek.state.mn.us/eemn_l.cfm.

Contact information

Michael J. Kennedy
Environmental Education Specialist
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency Prevention and Assistance Division
525 S. Lake Ave. Ste. 400
Duluth, MN 55802
Phone: 218-302-6629
Fax: 218-723-4727

EEAB Members

Chair: Lee Ann Landstrom

Congressional District Representatives

District 1: Vacant

District 2
Michelle Kelly
Inver Grove Heights
H 651-450-9313
W 651-582-8417

District 3
Joel Silverman
14910 46th Place N
Plymouth, MN 55446

District 4
Brinkley Prescott
1127 Magnolia Ave E
St. Paul, MN 55106
H 651-771-2740
W 651-222-7691


District 5
Lee Ann Landstrom
2701 Yosemite Ave S
St. Louis Park, MN 55416
H 952-922-3023
W 763-694-7701

District 6
Mary Ellenbecker Johnson
19253 East Shore Dr
Kimball, MN 55353
H 320-398-2719

District 7
Anthony Bormann
2714 26th St Cir S
Moorhead, MN 56560
H 218-498-2930

District 8: Vacant

Citizen At-large
Pete Cleary
6361 Crosby Ave E
Inver Grove Heights, MN 55076

Citizen At-large
Patricia Born Selly
4052 Lyndale Ave S
Minneapolis, MN 55409
H 612-827-3046
W 612-501-5179

Citizen At-large
Tracy Fredin
4506 Nawadaha Blvd
Minneapolis, MN 55406
H 612-729-3802
W 651-523-3105

Government Agency Representatives

Dept. of Agriculture
David Weinand
625 Robert St. N.
St. Paul, MN  55155

Dept. of Natural Resources
Dawn Flinn
500 Lafayette Rd.
St. Paul, MN  55155
Phone: 651-259-5344

Board of Water and Soil Resources
Jon Fure
520 Lafayette Rd N 2nd Floor
St. Paul, MN 55155

U of M Extension
Nate Meyer
Regional Center, Cloquet
179 University Rd.
Cloquet, MN 55720

Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
Jeff Ledermann
520 Lafayette Rd. N. 2nd floor
St. Paul, MN  55155

Dept. of Education
Clark Erickson
1500 Highway 36 West
Roseville, MN  55113

Dept. of Health
Kimberly Benson-Johnson
Freeman Building
625 Robert St. N.
St. Paul MN 55164-0975

Environmental Quality Board

Board of Teaching
Karen Balmer
1500 Highway 36 West
Roseville, MN  55113

last update 4/25/08

2008 Board Minutes

2007 Board Minutes

2006 Board Minutes

2000-2005 Board Minutes

Privacy Statement | SEEK is a program of the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency